The Hacienda Must Be Built

It’s taken me a while to write this post. Firstly, I want to thank everyone who came to the first SFIS event on Sunday night. The response was mixed over the course of the evening and it’s given me a lot to think about in regards to future meetings. Overall, the feedback was positive and I hope to evolve the concept in order to make it adhere more closely to my original objectives.

I have spent a lot of time trying to figure out how best to respond to some of the negative feedback I received and I needed a few days to distance myself from my initial (over)reaction to it. There are a number of things I could say here but I’ve decided that this is a less-is-more kind of a situation. It suffices to say that the intention behind SFIS is to encourage intellectual and creative growth in a non-academic or exclusionary environment.

To that end, there are a lot of improvements that can be made. The only way SFIS will become what it has the potential to be is if participants (you folk!) are involved in furthering its evolution. I urge you to offer any suggestions you may have for how to make this thing work better.

Ok!

Moving on: a July SFIS meeting is in the works! (Yay!) Details are a little fuzzy right now, but word on the street is that the brilliant Matt Ganucheau will be making an appearance. I am looking for artists who would like to participate, as well. Video, 2d, 3d, whatevs. You can contact me here if you’re interested. I’ll update everyone with a date as soon as humanly possible.

Thanks again for everything. You guys are lovely times a billion.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

